Home · Gallery · Games · Links

September 28, 2006

Bad SEO : MonsterWebPromotion.Com

Category: SEO — Feydakin @ 8:55 am

So I get this email:

Hi! I’m sending this message to ask if you would please place a link to VeilShop.com on your website at http://www.banglesandbrides.com/wedding_directory/normal/weddingdress/.

We offer a product that we feel would be valuable to your page viewers. Our site is a resource for great bridal accessories, including veils, tiaras, jewelry, and more.

Please visit our site at www.VeilShop.com if you would like to see more and feel free to get in touch with me anytime at Robert.Severson@MonsterWebPromotion.com. If you like, you may use this
convenient HTML code for direct insertion onto your site:

Wedding Bridal Veils
Veils, tiaras, and other necessary bridal accessories for the perfect wedding.

Thank you for your time!

Robert Severson
Link Developer
Robert.Severson@monsterwebpromotion.com

No big deal, except, the highly trained Link Developer sent a direct email to my personal email address to be included in our Free wedding directory page. Yes, it’s a free directory.. Simply click submit and we will include your website in our directory for free.. Yet, this wonderful person felt the need to email me drectly to request a link.. Guess what?? Not getting it..

How hard is it to click submit your site vs emailing me in my office and wasting my time?? Now I have to site here and write a blog post about how monsterwebpromotion.com sucks at what they do and are probably charging people good money to not do the most basic of jobs..

It probably wouldn’t bother me as much if it were some fly by night rip off artists.. But this is a front for Network Soultions.. You know the guys, they used to control all things top level domain on the internet.. It simply boggles the mind that this large company would contimue to screw people over again and again..

And now I’m off to contact the owners of the website that hired these morons and let them know that they are probably wasting their money and getting more research to exand on this blog post..

~Fey

September 24, 2006

Happily Ever After

Category: Personal — Feydakin @ 5:40 pm

Well it’s official, my daughter is now a wife..

It was a very non traditional wedding at a local state park and we were fortunate enough to have a wonderful day after it looked like it was going to storm in the morning.. It was a small gathering of close family and a couple of friends.. But it was a great time..

I’m very proud of my daughter, for a young kid she really seems to have it together.. I see nothing but a wonderful future ahead of her..

Congratulations Travis and Michelle

I’ll be adding more pictures to the gallery as I get them edited and cleaned up.. Thanks to everyone who has helped support a very emotional father deal with his daughter growing up..

~Fey

September 21, 2006

Bad SEO - RedZee / Web Wise Media Scam

Category: SEO — Feydakin @ 5:10 pm

Seems that the nice folks at web wise media (www.webwisemedia.com) are still up to their strange way of making your site popular..

Here is the process in a nutshell.. You pay them gobs of money.. They promise that anyone using their software will see your site rank higher in the search results for your keywords.. How can that be you say?? Simple, their software intercepts and alters the search engine results to place your site in the top whatever.. Their process doesn’t work at all if you don’t have their spamware installed.. IT doesn’t actually help your rankings, just abuses some poor soul that probably doesn’t even know that their computer is infested..

Normally you would expect people like this to keep a low profile.. But they don’t.. Take alook at the webwisemedia scam / redzee scam thread over at webworkshop..

A question was raised about the validity of their service.. And it was promptly responded to by some loser from Torrance, CA., extolling the virtures of their great service.. And that person was promptly banned, as they should be.. Then just a month later yet another loser from Torrance (I can say that, I’ve been in Torrance, the loser to valuable human ratio is pretty high there) comes in and tops the thread again claiming that web wise media is a great group to work with.. I believe that the climical term I’m looking for here is Bullshit..

An interesting bit of info is that Torrance is just 30 miles from Woodland Hills, CA.. Could it be possible that an employee of web wise media could be travelling the net shilling for their bosses on SEO forums?? Could it be a member of management?? Don’t really know, don’t even really care.. But it is a glowing example of the depths that some people will go to to take your money..

~Fey

September 1, 2006

Jewelry Scam - Diamond Nexus Labs

Category: Jewelry — Feydakin @ 10:18 pm

A new website went up recently labled as a Consumer Guide to Synthetic Diamonds at http://www.consumerguidesweb.com. The site purports to provide a consumer’s guide to the best quality and service from companies providing man-made diamonds.. Great idea, it’s alwasy a great thing to have more information out there to help people decide..

Unfortunatly they seem to have left a little detail out..

Their #1 also happens to be owned by the guys that own the consumer report site.. Imagine that, a consumer report site giving the #1 spot to the company that also happens to own them.. Wow.. It might not be quite so bad if they had bothered to mention that somewhere on their site.. But they didn’t.. Not really a shock with the past track records of those involved..

Take a look here -
http://whois.domaintools.com/consumerguidesweb.com

and here -
http://whois.domaintools.com/diamondnexuslabs.com

The registrant for Diamond Nexus Labs is
registrant-firstname: Robert
registrant-lastname: Joseph
registrant-street1: 2644 Lorraine Circle
registrant-pcode: 60134
registrant-state: IL
registrant-city: Geneva
registrant-ccode: US
registrant-phone: +1.6304020534

And the registrant for consumerguidesweb.com is
Lamb, Lindsey
2644 Lorraine Circle
Geneva, IL 60134
US
6302125152

Interesting coincidence..

I suppose that we should be glad that the other two sites listed are not owned by the same company.. But it does make you wonder about any company that would stoop to this sort of trickery to gain sales.. Beware of Misleading Diamond Simulant Advertising from Unscrupulous Jewelry Vendors indeed..

~Fey

Edited to add
9/05/06: It seems that the consumer website has already been removed and a blank page exists in it’s place now.. I wonder why a consumer based website would fold after just a few weeks??